- February 17, 2018
9:00 am - 3:00 pm
All of our LTC instructors are Texas State Department of Public Safety (TX DPS) Certified Concealed Handgun License Instructors. They are also National Rifle Association (NRA) Certified Firearms Instructors and/or Range Safety Officers. All instructors are current/former law enforcement and/or military and bring tremendous knowledge and experience to the classroom and to the range. They are committed to 1) your safety; 2) delivering the best LTC instruction available in Texas and 3) ensuring you are as prepared as possible for the responsibility of carrying a concealed handgun.
- Must be a legal resident of Texas, or apply for a non-resident license
- Must be at least 21, unless active duty or honorably discharged from the military, then at least 18
- Must not ever have been convicted of a FELONY
- Must not be currently charged with a Class A or Class B MISDEMEANOR or FELONY
- Must not be chemically dependent, including alcohol
- Must be capable of exercising sound judgment
- Must not have been convicted of a Class A or Class B misdemeanor, or a disorderly conduct, in the past 5 years
- Must be fully qualified under federal and state laws to purchase a handgun
- Must not be delinquent in any payments to the state of Texas, including child support and property taxes
- Must not be restricted by a protective or restraining order involving a person
- Must not have been convicted of a felony grade juvenile delinquent conduct in the previous 10 years
- Safe Handling and Storage of Firearms
- Basic Firearms Training
- Legal Aspects of Concealed Carry in Texas
- Use of Force (including Deadly Force)
- Non-Violent Dispute Resolution
- Situational Awareness & Mental Preparedness
- Range Safety Briefing
- Review and 25 question test
Students are expected to be proficient with their handgun upon arrival. Students needing help are encouraged to schedule a private lesson with one of our instructors or schedule a Beginner Handgun Course held every Saturday 9am to 11am.
Revolver or semi-automatic pistol (.22 caliber or larger), 50 rounds of ammunition, eye protection, and free disposable earplugs are available to students. Safety glasses cost $3.00 at the range.
Shooting Proficiency Test
- 50 rounds shot from 3 different distances at a B-27 silhouette target.
- 20 rounds fired at 3 yards
- 20 rounds fired at 7 yards
- 10 rounds fired at 15 yards
Stage 1: Twenty shots (20) will be fired from 3 yards.
A. Five (5) shots fired in a “One Shot Exercise” 2 seconds allowed for each shot.
B. Ten shots (10) fired in a “Two Shot Exercise” 3 seconds allowed for each two shot sequence.
C. Five (5) shots fired in 10 seconds
Stage 2: Twenty shots (20) will be fired from 7 yards – fired 5 stages.
A. Five (5) shots will be fired in 10 seconds
B. Five (5) shots will be fired in 2 stages:
1. Two (2) shots will be fired in 4 seconds
2. Three (3) shots will be fired in 6 seconds
C. Five (5) shots fired in a “One Shot Exercise” 3 seconds allowed for each shot.
D. Five (5) shots fired in 15 seconds.
Stage 3: Ten shots (10) fired from 15 yards – fired in two 5-shot strings.
A. Five (5) shots fired in two stages:
1. Two (2) shots fired in 6 seconds.
2. Three (3) shots fired in 9 seconds.
B. Five (5) shots fired in 15 seconds.
What to do before class or after completion
- Visit the Texas Department of Public Safety
- Fill out online application for a NEW CONCEALED HANDGUN LICENSE
- Register for fingerprinting
- Pay the application fee (This fee is paid the Texas Department of Public Safety)
- Print out the receipt/ to do list (This should have a large bar code across the top.)